top of page
  • Writer's picturesihtmsalt

Chasing Dreams as an Intern



On October 1, 2022, I started my internship where my Front Office Team and I had a fantastic time together. I gained a lot of knowledge and had the chance to show off all the abilities and competence I gained at the University of Baguio.


Out of all the interns from all countries who participated here at the Marriott Hotels in Indianapolis, Indiana, I became known as one of the best presenters for our intern hotel proposal where I discussed various methods for enhancing our hotel and service. In order to make it happen, I created a lot of materials, including brochures, images, videos, and a comprehensive presentation. I still remember our general manager praising me, "Kiara, this is fantastic and definitely a good idea." My heart melted, and I felt incredibly proud of myself that everything I did for the presentation was all worth it.


Plenty of challenges stood in my way, but they never discouraged me from achieving my goals and success with this program.


I got the position of Top 2 Top Seller for the entire White Lodging Company in the United States of America and I remained the Top 1 Seller in our hotel for 5 consecutive months here in Indianapolis Marriott Downtown.


I recall during my freshman year at the University of Baguio when a discussion about international on-the-job training was brought up during the orientation. I really did plan for this internship since my first year of college, telling about the benefits to my parents and how much it will cost basically encouraging them so they will allow me to join the program. Until the pandemic happened that everything was uncertain, and at that point, I honestly thought that it is no longer possible but still, it happened. I am delighted and excited. Indeed, your dream will come true when you least expect it.


There have been many challenges along the way during my internship, but you have to be persistent and face all your problems. Be bold and try because you will never know how it will turn out.


One thing is for sure, If you want it to happen, make a way. Fight for your dreams and I know you all got this.


I will be forever grateful to my SIHTM Family for honing me to have a heart of a champion and like what was imparted to me, I will never forget and continue to be globally competitive wherever I'll go.

15 views0 comments
bottom of page