top of page
  • Janelle Onongen

Perks of Being a Champion: My USA Internship at Memphis, TN

Updated: Sep 16, 2023



The Internship & Training Program sets students to go, join a rich and immersive experience of the US’ culture and business practices. The J-1 Bridge USA program is a visa program that allows students and young professionals to visit America for training or to undergo an internship. I am one of the graduates who are blessed to be a part of this prominent opportunity. From the Watershed Cradle of the Philippines, all the way to the Home of the Blues & Birthplace of Rock N Roll – Memphis, Tennessee. Peabody Memphis Hotel was where I’ve been performing my internship. And my beloved Alma Mater, the University of Baguio, had a great impact on my internship journey. As stated in the institution’s mission, they educate us to be empowered professionals in a global community & perform quality services with sincerity, honesty, and integrity which I’ve been holding onto. I never realized how important experience is in the working world. Needless to say, the university advises us on how the business world is, and I am beyond grateful to my mentors who never got tired of reiterating that to us.


I remember being so apprehensive during my school days but my mentors in the School of International Hospitality & Tourism Management pushed me, including everybody else, to widen our horizons through countless public speaking, reporting, writing essays, and joining extracurricular activities. I realized that learning just the basics of the English language is not enough, you need to widen your vocabulary especially when you are interacting with different nationalities. With that, I am thankful for my school that encouraged us to use English as our main vernacular not only in the four corners of the classroom but also outside the university. I remember my American colleagues who were astonished and asked me where and how I learned to be fluent in English – well, the secret lies in the excellence of our school.


Additionally, I’ve acquired that open communication is one of the most principal things in the workplace. If you don't know how to communicate well with your colleagues, you'll never learn and work with them properly. When it comes to physical appearance, I’m instilled by my school’s rules to neatly bun my hair, make sure to wear my uniform correctly, display a good posture, and smile all the time. With this, I am more confident in interacting with anyone, especially our superiors. In terms of communicating with our guests, it is a great honor that I can showcase great hospitality which I learned from SIHTM, aside from also considering that Filipinos are hospitable. The school also taught me self-discipline such as paying attention to your work and avoiding impractical tasks, which I applied. Undoubtedly, our superiors, colleagues, and guests appreciated all of these things and commended me for them.


As my internship draws to a close, I have come to realize numerous values… the importance of constructive criticisms, for example, especially from mentors and colleagues, could help us grow and adapt to the work setting. Moreover, I gained a new sense of professionalism and a clearer view of what it meant to be in the professional world. Involving oneself in an internship can be a powerful way to grow personally and professionally. It is indeed a great opportunity that I had a hands-on learning experience, thanks to the University of Baguio - School of International & Hospitality Management. Truly a champion’s home!



15 views0 comments
bottom of page