top of page
  • Writer's pictureMa. Nicole Cassandra M. Ang

Truly Malaysia: A Cultural immersive learning experience

Updated: Aug 21, 2023



Whenever Malaysia is brought up in a conversation, I would always expect to hear about their culture, which definitely was what I looked forward to learning and discovering during our Cross Border Academic Cooperation and Cultural Immersion. Aside from that, my expectations included eating something new, meeting a variety of races, and seeing unparalleled scenic views of Malaysia. Traveling to different countries gives one a different feeling every time because as they say, skies and sunsets are unique, they never repeat. The aforementioned line was my motivation to join the international tour as traveling provides me with an experience that could never be replicated and an opportunity to learn more about the world, including me in the process. Moreover, I wanted to see and experience for myself how Malaysia is “Truly Asia”.


As someone who has already experienced flying to international countries, I thus far anticipated all of the processes that we had to go through before taking off. But then again, one should not feel assured of anything as time and security checks are challenges that could become hurdles along the way. It was my first time traveling with a large group of people and I was assigned to be the sweeper, a point person at the rear end of the line to ensure that no one is left behind. I was the last person at the check-in baggage counter and the immigration line. Held in the immigration queue for almost two hours, we were almost left behind by the plane but fortunately, the people in front of the line were very kind to let us through first. This was truly an unforgettable experience — imagine running through the hallways of the airport to the boarding gate with our shoes in one hand and bags, accessories, and documents in the other hand. The hurried process literally took our breaths away but luckily, we safely got onboard and arrived at the City Garden Of Lights - Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia on time.



Upon arrival at Kuala Lumpur International Airport 2 (KLIA 2), one could see that the airport is vast, advanced, diverse, and cultural. KLIA 2 is composed of diverse travelers, friendly locals, and accessible stores, both local and international ones. Being Truly Asia, Malaysia houses three major races (Malay, Chinese, and Indian) as well as other ethnic groups in large numbers who are all friendly. During the entire cultural immersion, I did not encounter any difficulty in terms of communicating with them as most understand English and speak with genuineness. The destinations that I visited in Kuala Lumpur are the following: Batu Caves, Genting Highlands (Resorts World Genting), Suria KLCC, Petronas Twin Towers, Saloma Bridge, Pavilion, Bukit Bintang Street, Fahrenheit 88, Museum of Illusions, Central Market, Jalan Raja Alang Market, Universiti Teknologi MARA, Malaysia Tourism Centre, Perpustakaan Kuala Lumpur, and Harrison Boutique. We also got to pass by KL Tower and Malaysia’s famed Chinatown. Also, I was given the honor to host the event held at Grand Continental Hotel which was entitled, “Sustainable Practices: Malaysia’s Support to the Sustainable Development Goals”, together with Ms. Rajesvare Rada as our resource speaker from HELP University.


The challenges that I experienced when I was in Malaysia include the long-distance travel from one attraction to another, the direction of trains, and the lack of internet access. My most memorable experience in Malaysia, on the other hand, was going to Petronas Twin Towers, the world’s tallest twin buildings and the first destination that we went to during our cultural immersion day. It was memorable as we got to experience riding the STAR Light Rail Transit and the Kelana Jaya Line Light Rail Transit, an underground train. My friends and I had a lot of fun touring the area, meeting locals, trying out new food and beverages, as well as capturing memorable moments through taking pictures. After Petronas Twin Towers, we also got to experience riding the Go KL Electric Bus, Kuala Lumpur’s free bus service.


When touring, it is best to be prepared, ready, and resourceful. With this, I am grateful that all of the lectures from my major subjects were useful during the tour, specifically about itinerary planning, global etiquette, and airline service. To make such learning experiences even more worthwhile, I therefore recommend the BSTM program of UB-SIHTM to provide more time for exploration at famous spots such as the Batu Caves, supply means of internet connectivity for easier communication, and have a walking tour with a professional tour guide.



As a tourism student, I have realized the importance of practicing and promoting sustainable tourism as there are fauna species that are pushed to the brink of extinction and beautiful destinations that are ruined by natural and man-made calamities. As a regular tourist, I have learned the significance of learning another culture, respecting it, and integrating it into my actions everywhere I go, understanding that some actions may either be polite or offensive to them. Lastly, as a Filipino citizen, I have learned that we should take note of the adverse effects of tourism and practice sustainability in order to mitigate these negative impacts of our industry.


Indeed, Malaysia has distinct characteristics that will make you fall in love with the country and its people. Truly, Malaysia is in the hearts of Asians… and I am proud to be one of them.


30 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page